How To Get Along With Your Neighbors In Luxury Apartments South Charlotte | Gov. declares State of Emergency as NC braces for winter storm
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-492,single-format-standard,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1300,footer_responsive_adv,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-theme-ver-11.0,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.1.1,vc_responsive

Gov. declares State of Emergency as NC braces for winter storm

Gov. declares State of Emergency as NC braces for winter storm

CHARLOTTE, NC (WBTV) – NC Governor Roy Cooper issued a State of Emergency Friday ahead of a significant winter storm forecast to impact the state, and the WBTV viewing area, as we head into the weekend.

The National Weather Service issued a Winter Storm Warning for portions of the mountains from 7 p.m. Saturday to noon Monday.

A Winter Storm Warning means significant amounts of snow, sleet, and ice will make travel very hazardous or impossible.

A Winter Storm Watch that was in effect for much of western and central North Carolina, as well as York County, SC, starting Saturday evening or early Sunday morning through Monday night was upgraded to a Winter Storm Warning Friday afternoon.

The National Weather Service is expecting moderate to heavy precipitation to fall as a mixture of snow, sleet, and freezing rain across the region with accumulations expected to be greatest in western North Carolina.

Snow and sleet accumulations of 10 to 18 inches with a light glaze of ice are possible, according to the NWS. WBTV’s team of meteorologists are forecasting very similar numbers across the viewing area as of Friday afternoon.

Below is a list of North Carolina counties that have been placed under the Winter Storm Warning starting Saturday.

Alexander County, NC Iredell County, NC Davie County, NC Catawba County, NC Rowan County, NC Cleveland County, NC Lincoln County, NC Gaston County, NC Mecklenburg County, NC Cabarrus County, NC Union County, NC Caldwell County, NC Burke County, NC eastern McDowell County, NC Rutherford County, NC eastern Polk County, NC York County, SC

Source Article